Civil Unions

Several states have expanded the legal rights available to spouses in same-sex relationships through civil unions and domestic partnerships.

Five states allow for civil unions: Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Vermont and New Jersey.

California, District of Columbia, Maine, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin allow for domestic partnerships while Hawaii allows for a similar relationship known as reciprocal beneficiaries.

Following the passage of same sex marriage laws, five states, Connecticut, Delaware, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont now allow for same sex marriages and have converted all civil unions into marriages.

All of the states that allow for civil unions or domestic partnerships now also allow for same sex marriage, either through statute or court ruling.

Back ↵